Curiouser and Curiouser…

Hello everyone. I have been so insanely busy it is just…. insane. Amongst all of this insanity, progress has been made on the Creatures of the Deep project. Here’s a little preview of the progress so far:

Who knew Deep Ones could be so cute? I will post the results when the project is finished. I also will begin painting my Crowley triptych tomorrow.

Tonight, I will be filming! At The Lovecraft, Raqs Obliettes will be performing a much anticipated show, Curiouser & Curiouser.

Now to decrypt that sentence:

ceiling of the Lovecraft Bar

The Lovecraft Bar is a horror-themed nightclub in Portland, OR. It is one of my favorite places in Portland, run by one of my favorite people in Portland, Jon Horrid. As you can imagine, they have several different theme nights (goth night, metal night, Tom Waits night, etc.) and host many different performances and events of the same ilk. The place looks like LaVey Satanists and H.P. Lovecraft enthusiast were hired for the interior decorating. Most likely, this is the case. One feature I love about this place is that they have a vegan menu that fits the Lovecraftian theme, and a selection of high quality teas that you can order in 16 – 24 oz pots. Again, I can not speak highly enough about this place, and you can often find me there. It is a must see if you come to Portland, OR.

Raqs Obliettes is a belly-dancing troupe with a dark aesthetic. Hands down, I have seen these ladies perform the best fusion belly-dancing EVAR! I believe this is the first themed show that they have performed, and I am most excited to see this Alice in Wonderland themed production of dark-fusion belly dancing, Curiouser & Curiouser. If you are in Portland, why on earth would you not go see this tonight? Doors open at the Lovecraft for this at 9pm. Just sayin’ 😉

Sushila - digital media, Valerie Herron 2011

Raqs Obliettes is led/produced by another one of my favorite people, Sushila Battagione.  She is an experienced tarot-reader and energy worker, as well as Doula and enviably talented dancer.

Alright, I must get ready go do a million things. At what point did I cease to be a lazy person?

Leave a Reply

