The Wild Hunt (of Portland) and Vending

I’m stoked that I managed to get this painting done this weekend. I know I say this a lot, but I do feel like this one is still a work in progress. Really I would just like another week or two of tweaking it. So here it is:

The Wild Hunt (of Portland) - digital media, Valerie Herron 2012

I’ve been wanting to do a Wild Hunt painting for some time, and there are many different versions that I want to create. This one was supposed to be sort of comical. I brought a few of my favorite Portlanders together for the photo shoot I conducted for the photo reference for this painting. As you can imagine, it was pretty hilarious. My buddy Lupa loaned me all of the fur items you see in the painting (FYI- you can buy these ethically obtained furs and others like them via her website thegreenwolf.com.) I had to later superimpose Fred (who you may recognize from this) into the photo reference. Even though a celestial harvesting co-op or whatever is so much more Portland, compositionally the hunt needed a leader.

I went down to Mt. Tabor Theater to meet with the organizers of the Dark Fairy and Fantasy Ball. They showed me my vending space and  I started to get super excited. I really have to thank Aaron, Jesse, and Joe for being so helpful and flexible with all of my planning and obsessing.

It’s next weekend, folks. You don’t want to miss it.

Now I must go to sleep. This week is going to be insane…

Leave a Reply

