The Dark Fairy and Fantasy Ball

Hello everyone. I’m a bit late to blog this week, but I am now all caught up after vending, and I am so ready to report how the Ball went.

The Dark Fairy and Fantasy Ball was a total success (good job Joe, Aaron, and Jesse!) It had a great turn out, and it was a lot of fun. Here’s the breakdown of my day at the event:

Set up

We got there around 2:30 pm to set up the booth. As you can see here, the organizers supplied me with a table and two walls to hang my work:

Val's booth Before
hallway for the artists
the main room and stage
the lounge for the venders

If you ever find yourself vending at an event for the first time, be sure to give yourself as much time as possible to set up. It takes a surprising amount of time to set up, and you will inevitably forget important things at home. Everything looked pretty good after we set up

Fred and the booth
high end prints
booth
booth
originals
my originals

 Artists and Vendors 

Unfortunately I didn’t get pictures of everybody, but here are some of the super talented artists that were in this event:

the work of Jesse Lindsay
Jesse Lindsay, Becky, and Dan Boles
Wes Rogers
Sushila reading tarot
Luke Green and his work
vendors in the lounge
Lupa's sweet booth

Aaron Shallock’s Aerial Performance

This was the only performance I got to break away from the booth for. Event organizer (and my Buddy) Aaron Shallock did his first public, aerial performance here at the ball. Since I had never seen him do this before, I found myself worried that he was going to fall on his head at several points. It was a beautiful performance, no accidents nor injuries, and he looks like a freakin’ saucy vampire in these photos:

Costumes

Fred dressed as Pan. He makes a sexy Satyr.
I wore antlers, a medieval dress, and was fabulous.

Fred and I had a great time, and we even made some sales!

Alright, back to the grind. I have 2 weeks left of school and it is officially ultimate crunch time. I would like to say congratulations to all of my school chums that either gave their thesis proposal or defense this last week. Everyone who I got to see present did an amazing job. I’m so proud of all of you, and I hope I can be even half as suave when I present in the Fall…

One thought on “The Dark Fairy and Fantasy Ball

Leave a comment